Some musings and Questions from a Newbie

General Discussion is for anything related to Blackstone not covered in the other forums.
The Flying Rodent
Count
Count

Some musings and Questions from a Newbie

Post by The Flying Rodent »

Hey all , old time nwn 1 player turned EE noob here. I recently stumbled upon this server in a similar fashion to Cometchaser [recommended on NWN EE Steam and Reddit forums], and am enjoying the experience so far! I thought it nice to share my initial impressions as a lead in to some questions about the server.

Judging by the posts on the forums here, it seems like the culture is to keep server specific information about crafting/items/areas/etc. not public as to maintain some mystery and encourage people to explore. Respecting that, I’ll keep my musings/questions as non-specific as I can, and can edit things if they are deemed inappropriate.

The questions come after the story, so if you don’t feel like reading then just skip to the second set of dotted lines.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After picking a Deity and not a Subrace, Joshua [a budding Cleric/Monk/Shadowdancer minimum-equipment character] hopped off the boat and arrived at Blackstone. The dock keeper seemed friendly enough, and pointed me in the direction of several merchants around town to get me some starting equipment. It was a little confusing as to why the Dwarven Smith didn’t want to buy Joshua's old Small Shield but hey, he found someone else willing to pawnbroke, so no biggie.

Joshua was pointed in the direction of the Farmer north of town and a mission to remove some pesky wolves terrorizing the local Beef industry. With his Crossbow, Mace, and trusty Badger, he seemed to handle the job quite well. After wandering back to town he collected his reward, which included a White Socket Gem!