New guy here! With some comments and questions

General Discussion is for anything related to Blackstone not covered in the other forums.
Cometchaser
Knight
Knight

New guy here! With some comments and questions

Post by Cometchaser »

Hey guys, I just started playing on Blackstone a couple of weeks ago after I made a post on the /r/neverwinternights subreddit asking for recommendations for Action-based PWs. Blackstone keep got more upvotes than any other suggestion so I decided to give it a shot. I am absolutely in love with it so far!

My main character (at the moment) is Gildrenel, a dual kama Monk/Fighter/WM. I've made it up to level 38, hoping to hit max level in the next few days. I've met a few new friends on this server already, the community has been incredibly kind and open to helping others.

I wasn't exactly sure what to expect when I joined the server, other than knowing that it was an Action server. Here are a few of the things that pleasantly surprised me:

1. The loot box system. This system solves so many of the issues present in other action-based modules. Rather than having to tediously loot every single mob (after waiting 5 seconds for the loot bag on their corpse to spawn, of course), you are free to move on immediately after every kill, confident that you didn't accidentally skip any good loot. When loot DOES drop, you get a nice pop-up message that's easy to see, and it gives you that feeling of excitement that doesn't quite happen with the regular NWN loot system. The fact that the loot boxes are instanced for each player in a group is fantastic as well.

2. Randomized loot. The Ancient loot items are a really cool feature! There have been a few items that have made me audibly go "WOW" once they are identified, because they rolled some really good properties. This is a really fun feature!