Reporting Internet Crimes

General Discussion is for anything related to Blackstone not covered in the other forums.

Moderators: DM_eaze, Luceran, DM_Jaydaan, ST_DM_Myle, dm_xeen1, DM Nexus, DM_TrainWrek, Carpe_DM1, DM_Unicorn, DM_Griphon, DM_Shadowlands, dm_zane, DM_Centaur, DM_Mystic, DM Rendyll, DM_Avalon

jackybaby
Count
Count

Reporting Internet Crimes

Post by jackybaby »

Some of you know, and some may be a bit surprised to find that I am a retired Law Enforcement Officer. Well, I am. Because of this and in light of recent posts regarding possible internet wrong-doing, I feel an obligation to post this link:

http://www.usdoj.gov/criminal/cybercrime/reporting.htm

You can also report internet crimes to your local Law Enforcement Agency, or just ask them for guidance.

(Edited to remove the last line which could have caused confusion with the intent of the original post.)
Last edited by jackybaby on Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The wise man speaks because he has something to say. The fool speaks because he has to say something.
driller
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by driller »

Fortunately for people who do operate servers/forums Congress wisely passed this act:

Communications Decency Act of 1996 (47 U.S.C. § 230 et seq.) (“CDAâ€
Jazelle
Duke
Duke

Post by Jazelle »

Having lived through the major BBS raids of the early 90's where the feds would knock down BBSes for any reason they thought was right. I agree with Driller that act is nice to have around now a day.
The world is a strange place.
ST_DM_Myle
Viceroy
Viceroy

Post by ST_DM_Myle »

This is not too you Jacky. So if I say 'you' I am referrencing the server population or those people who have addressed a specific issue to me. Since this was brought up, however, and since I have gotten several PM's over the last 6 or so months, here goes: