Rogues, Rewards, and other stuff

Post suggestions for improvements here.
Mer`Zikain
Count
Count

Rogues, Rewards, and other stuff

Post by Mer`Zikain »

Okay, so I started playing and my first character choice was a drow rogue I was looking forward to trying out online. I'm not sure if there have been other people comment on this or not but rogues seem completely worthless right now. Sure I can break into people's houses but what's the point? The meager container selections are invariably empty. I don't know if someone is beating me to them (doubtful) or if they just aren't populating treasure consistently but I have yet to break into anyone's abode and find anything of value. This leads me to believe the people of Blackstone Keep are a poor lot.

So I go out to make my name in the world by taking on some wolves. Wolf pelts were decently lucrative in the first BSK, but I guess an over abundance of them have saturated the market and thus reduced their going price. Seriously? 5gp? And they don't always drop?

But before I was even able to get any pelts I learned that the wolves are insanely dangerous to a rogue. I was mauled nearly to death 5 times in a short time. With only 6hp one crit from a wolf nearly one-shot's me. And I rarely hit them when I attacked. Either I'm very unlucky or the wolves are decidedly tougher. I'd hate to try playing a mage.

So that little experiment failed and I created a new character. A wood elf ranger. This worked much better but I still had to be very careful and fight from a distance with a longbow. Up close those wolves are vicious. Finally I got to level 2 and decided to attempt some zombie bashing. And the zombies did bash quiet efficiently causing me to run away to keep from dying. Back to the bow and arrow, only now crits were worthless. Luckily the zombies are slow moving, but so was my level progression. I now have a level 4 ranger (who got totally pwned by kobolds at level 2) and not a lot to show for it.